Performance Riding Experience Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Author Topic: Help with suit sizing  (Read 708 times)

jneal1531

Help with suit sizing
« on: November 30, 2016, 02:21:10 PM »

Hey, i am new to pre and track riding. I am looking foward to riding with everybody this comming year. I need a few things to get started and a suit is prob my biggest problem. I wear a bottom sedici #16 for legs and tore them up pretty good last year. Its a us 30 and fit me like a glove. Ive tryed different tops on and they are way to tight. Im 6'4" and weigh around 175. Any tips or suggestions?

JRA

• Administrator
Re: Help with suit sizing
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2016, 03:58:30 PM »

Well first off welcome to PRE. We're glad you're here and taking advantage of the knowledge available on this message board. I'm sure Susan will be along soon to advise you a riding gear. It sounds like you've been wearing a two piece. If you are going to buy something new that you will use mostly for the track I highly recommend a 1 piece suit. I'm sure there are off the rack options that will work for you. Worst case you could buy off the rack and have some alterations done to it to get the perfect fit.
John Allen
Co-Founder/President
PRE Track Days
john dot allen at ridepre dot com

TrackSide Gear

• "We support the sport"
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2016, 06:59:38 AM »

jneal1531, so sorry for the delay in getting back to you about the question regarding proper leather sizing.  :doh:

A proper fit is CRUCIAL to your leathers providing the best possible protection if you should down on the track.  Your leathers should not roll, bunch or be too loose.  An improper fit can lead to possible injury due to shifting, popped seams etc.  We agree with John Allen, the one piece suit is the best form of protection, simply because there is less risk of injury due to the zipper that connects the two pieces coming apart.